• General

  • Tuesday March 30th, 2021 @ 9:00

St Pat's History - 1939-40

By: Dermot Looney

Leinster League Division II - The Richmond Era Begins

In the 2019 season we began a season-by-season overview of the history of St Patrick's Athletic, finishing with the 1938-39 season in which Pat's won Division II of the Leinster League.

In the curtailed 2020 season, we looked at a decade-by-decade overview of the club, but are returning now to the Saints' pre-League era, beginning with 1939-40, the first season at home in Richmond Park.

As the guns of war sounded in Poland to mark the start of World War II, in Inchicore in Dublin, some much homelier history was being made.

St Patrick's Athletic, who had been based in the Phoenix Park, Bluebell (twice) and Chapelizod, were again on the move, but this time they had found their home. On Saturday September 2nd, 1939 - the day before hostilities were declared on the continent - Richmond Park hosted its first ever St Pat's home League game, a 2-2 draw against Hammond Lane in the Leinster League Division II, with the Saints goals coming from Gough and Whelan.

It is unclear as to why the Athletic remained in the second flight of what is now the Leinster Senior League, having won it the previous season.

Automatic promotion does not appear to have been in vogue in every league and it is also possible that there were issues related to ground availability.

Pat's shared Richmond Park, on which they had received a long-term lease from the McDowell family who owned the adjoining Richmond House pub, with League rivals St Paul's.

Pat's had played in Richmond Park on several previous occasions, including their fifth ever competitive game in 1930, but were now at home in Richer for the long haul.

You can read the article in full in our matchday programme:

  • The 1990s
  • The 1980s
  • The 1970s
  • The 1960s
  • The 1950s

  • Next Fixture

    Bohemians / June 28th @ 7:45pm
    Competition: League
    Venue: Richmond Park
    Team Pld Pts
    Derry City2341
    Shamrock Rovers2131
    Waterford FC2131
    Galway United FC2030
    St Patrick's Athletic2327
    Sligo Rovers2125
    Bohemian FC1924
    Drogheda United2116

    St Patrick's Athletic FC

    Founded in 1929 the 'Saints' are the current FAI Cup holders and play in the Premier Division of the SSE Airtricity League at Richmond Park, in Inchicore Dublin 8, Ireland.

    Latest Posts

    Contact Us

    125 Emmet Road, Inchicore, Dublin 8, D08 E0Y7, Ireland

    (+353) 1 454 6332
    (+353) 1 454 6211