• General

  • Tuesday September 29th, 2020 @ 9:00

St Pat's History - The 1970's

Statistically, the seventies are perhaps the weakest in Pat's history. The Saints' League finishing positions starting in 1970-71 and ending in 1979-80 are stark in their mediocrity; 12th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 10th, 11th, 6th, 10th, 14th and 12th.

Even though the League of Ireland expanded during the decade to 16 teams, only three Pat's players broke into double digits in League goals during the decade: Kevin Murray (13 in 1972-73), Peter Conway (13 in 1975-76) and Derek Carthy (12 in 1978-79).

But amidst the struggles there were flashes of intrigue and moments of magic to entertain the Richmond Park faithful.

John Colrain was replaced as manager in 1971 by Londoner Jack Burkett, who had played for West Ham for 10 years until 1968.

He took on a playermanager role at Richmond Park, winning the LFA Presidents' Cup in 1971-72 and leading the Saints toan FAI Cup Final in 1974.

That final saw Pat's lose out by 3 goals to 1 against a strong Finn Harps side.

You can read the article in full in our matchday programme:

  • The 1950s
  • The 1960s

  • Next Fixture

    Waterford / April 19th @ 7:45pm
    Competition: League
    Venue: Richmond Park
    Team Pld Pts
    Derry City1016
    Shamrock Rovers915
    St Patrick's Athletic1014
    Bohemian FC913
    Sligo Rovers912
    Waterford FC1012
    Galway United FC911
    Drogheda United98

    St Patrick's Athletic FC

    Founded in 1929 the 'Saints' are the current FAI Cup holders and play in the Premier Division of the SSE Airtricity League at Richmond Park, in Inchicore Dublin 8, Ireland.

    Latest Posts

    Contact Us

    125 Emmet Road, Inchicore, Dublin 8, D08 E0Y7, Ireland

    (+353) 1 454 6332
    (+353) 1 454 6211