• General

  • Thursday February 12th, 2015 @ 17:54

Saints Duo In ROI U21 Squad

Republic of Ireland U21 Head Coach Noel King has included Saints Lee Desmond and Sean Hoare in a squad of home-based players to face an Amateur international team at the AUL Complex on Saturday, February 21 (1pm).

The Saints' defenders are rewarded for showing promise in 2014, Sean breaking into the Saints' first team having stepped up from the U19's squad, while Desmond impressed while playing for Shelbourne last season and has hit the ground running with the Saints in pre-season.

The pair were also called up by King to the Republic of Ireland's friendlies at the end of 2014, with both making their U21 international débuts against Russia.

“For us, we are always looking for players capable of stepping up to U21 level so this game gives us an opportunity to work with many of the players we’ve seen with their clubs in the SSE Airtricity League," Republic of Ireland U21 Head Coach Noel King said.

“Sean Hoare and Lee Desmond were with us last season while Mikey Drennan we also know well. In the past players such as Paddy Madden and Daniel Kearns have played in these games. We have a tough campaign ahead and there will be a lot of players who will be used over the course of the next two years so these players all have an opportunity to stake a claim for inclusion.”

Conor O'Donnell (Limerick), Stephen McGuinness (Bray Wanderers), Colm Horgan (Galway United)
John Kavanagh (Cork City), Robert Lehane (Cork City), Darren Murphy (Cork City), Sean Hoare (St Patrick's Athletic), Lee Desmond (St Patrick's Athletic), Ruairi Keating (Sligo Rovers), Jake Dykes (Sligo Rovers), Gary Armstrong (Sligo Rovers), Dylan McGlade (Shelbourne), Ryan Robinson (Shelbourne), Mark Timlin (Derry City), Ayman Ben Mohamed (Longford Town), Luke Gallagher (Bray Wanderers), Rob Cornwall (Shamrock Rovers), Brandon Miele (Shamrock Rovers), Mikey Drennan (Shamrock Rovers)

Next Fixture

Waterford / March 4th @ 7:45pm
Competition: League
Venue: RSC
Team Pld Pts
Derry City37
Galway United FC36
Waterford FC34
Bohemian FC24
St Patrick's Athletic33
Sligo Rovers32
Shamrock Rovers21
Drogheda United20

St Patrick's Athletic FC

Founded in 1929 the 'Saints' are the current FAI Cup holders and play in the Premier Division of the SSE Airtricity League at Richmond Park, in Inchicore Dublin 8, Ireland.

Latest Posts

Contact Us

125 Emmet Road, Inchicore, Dublin 8, D08 E0Y7, Ireland

(+353) 1 454 6332
(+353) 1 454 6211