• General

  • Saturday August 30th, 2014 @ 12:45

Under 19 League Commences

The fourth SSE Airtricity U19 League kicks off this weekend with a new format.

The format for the 2014-15 SSE Airtricity U19 League has been changed following a review of the first three years of the competition.

The two tier three division system which had been in operation since the inception of the U19 League in 2011 has been dismantled and replaced with a one tier two division competition.

This will see the 21 clubs split between two regional divisions called the Northern Elite Division and the Southern Elite Division.

Originally 22 clubs had entered this season's competition but Fanad United withdrew earlier this month so there will be 10 teams in the Northern Elite Division and 11 in the Southern Elite Division.

The composition of the two divisions for the 2014-15 season is as follows:

U19 Northern Elite Division: Bohemians, Derry City, Drogheda United, Dundalk, Finn Harps, Letterkenny Rovers, Longford Town, Shelbourne, Sligo Rovers, St Patrick's Athletic

U19 Southern Elite Division: Athlone Town, Bray Wanderers, Cobh Ramblers, Cork City, Limerick. Mervue United, Salthill Devon, Shamrock Rovers, UCD, Waterford United, Wexford Youths

The U19 League will be played over two rounds on a home and away basis and top team in each division will be crowned as Northern or Southern Divisional winners.

The top four teams in each division will then go forward to the play-offs for the National U19 League Championship.

The play-offs will be played on a knockout basis culminating in a final to see who lifts the Dr Tony O'Neill Cup.

In the quarter-finals of the Championship series the teams that finished in first and second in each division will have home advantage and the ties will be played on a north v south basis as follows:

U19 Championship quarter-Final Draw

QF1: 1 North v 4 South
QF2: 2 North v 3 South
QF3: 1 South v 4 North
QF4: 2 South v 3 North

The pairings for the semi-finals and the venues for the semi-finals and final will be decided by an open draw.

The SSE Airtricity U19 League Cup competition for the Enda McGuill Cup has been retained.

St Pat's opening fixture will be against Finn Harps at the ALSAA at 2pm on Saturday, September 6th.

Team Pld Pts
Shamrock Rovers3678
St Patricks Athletic3662
Sligo Rovers3657
Derry City3654
Bohemian FC3652
Drogheda United3644
Finn Harps3644
Waterford FC3642
Longford Town3615

St Patrick's Athletic FC

Founded in 1929 the 'Saints' play in the Premier Division of the SSE Airtricity League at Richmond Park, in Inchicore Dublin 8, Ireland.

Latest Posts

Contact Us

125 Emmet Road, Inchicore, Dublin 8, D08 E0Y7, Ireland

(+353) 1 454 6332
(+353) 1 454 6211