• General

  • Friday January 10th, 2014 @ 20:16

Clarke Creates History

St Patrick's Athletic goalkeeper Brendan Clarke has been named Airtricity/SWAI Goalkeeper of the Year, and in doing so becomes the first ever goalkeeper from the club to claim the accolade.

Clarke saw off competition from Peter Cherrie of Dundalk and former Saints' keeper Gary Rogers (Sligo Rovers) to claim the award.

A lifelong Saint's fan, Brendan passed the 100 appearance barrier last season and helped ensure that the Saints had the meanest defence in the league, as we conceded only 20 goals.

"I'm delighted obviously," a thrilled Clarke admitted when speaking to RTÉ MNS at the awards ceremony. "It tops off a great 2013 for me personally and especially with myself and Liam winning the awards for the club tonight."

Clarke paid tribute to his teammates crediting them for the Saints great defensive record, emphasising that it was a group effort rather than any individuals.

"We defend as a team from the start when they have goalkicks. We do an awful lot of work on that that people wouldn't notice on a Friday night. I know the back five get a lot of credit for the amount of clean sheets but it is the eleven that is stopping teams from scoring."

Clarke made it a double for the Saints as manager Liam Buckley also received the 2013 Airtricity/SWAI Personality of the Year Award.

Everyone at St Patrick's Athletic would like to congratulate Brendan on his achievement.

Team Pld Pts
Shamrock Rovers3678
St Patricks Athletic3662
Sligo Rovers3657
Derry City3654
Bohemian FC3652
Drogheda United3644
Finn Harps3644
Waterford FC3642
Longford Town3615

St Patrick's Athletic FC

Founded in 1929 the 'Saints' play in the Premier Division of the SSE Airtricity League at Richmond Park, in Inchicore Dublin 8, Ireland.

Latest Posts

Contact Us

125 Emmet Road, Inchicore, Dublin 8, D08 E0Y7, Ireland

(+353) 1 454 6332
(+353) 1 454 6211