• General

  • Wednesday March 2nd, 2011 @ 12:02


Despite exiting the Setanta Sports Cup on Tuesday against Cliftonville the Saints 2-0 victory in the second leg sets them up for this weekend's opening Airtricity League weekend.

Pete Mahon's side travel to Terryland Park to face Galway United this Friday night with a 7.45 pm kick-off.

Sean Connor's side were unsure of their position in the Premier Division this season having been initially refused a license to play in the top tier, However, after much confusion, they were finally awarded a license on appeal and take their place among the top ten clubs in the country.

Tuesday's game saw Dave Mulcahy continuing where he left off last season with a goal and another, seemingly good effort, ruled out by the linesman's flag.

New signing Dave McMillan also got on the scoresheet and the Saints will be looking to him to lead the line on Friday night with last season's top scorer Danny North suspended for this weeks game.

Also suspended are new recruits Stephen Bradley and Paul Crowley but Pete Mahon hopes to have Daryl Kavanagh and Ian Bermingham back in contention having missed the Cliftonville game because of injury and illness respectively.

Another new signing the Saints hope to have available is 20 year old Ian Daly. The club have agreed terms with the Irish Under 21 international and are awaiting international clearance for the former Manchester City striker who has most recently had spells in Greece and Spain.

With Anto Murphy rejoining the club late last week and making an impressive restart to his Saints career Pete Mahon will be looking to improve on last season's fifth place finish and also to bring a trophy back to the Richmond trophy cabinet in 2011.

Full Squad - 2011:

Gary Rogers, Chris Bennion, Paul Hunt;

Neil Harney, Derek Pender, Conor Kenna, Evan McMillan, Shane Guthrie (on loan at Dundalk until July '11), Brian Shortall, Ian Bermingham, Jake Carroll;

Anthony Murphy, Seán Stewart, Jordan Keegan, David Mulcahy, James O'Brien, Shane McFaul, Paul Crowley, Stephen Bradley, Derek Doyle;

Daryl Kavanagh, Danny North, Thomas Crawley, David McMillan, Ian Daly (pending international clearance).

Next Fixture

Waterford / April 19th @ 7:45pm
Competition: League
Venue: Richmond Park
Team Pld Pts
Derry City1016
Shamrock Rovers915
St Patrick's Athletic1014
Bohemian FC913
Sligo Rovers912
Waterford FC1012
Galway United FC911
Drogheda United98

St Patrick's Athletic FC

Founded in 1929 the 'Saints' are the current FAI Cup holders and play in the Premier Division of the SSE Airtricity League at Richmond Park, in Inchicore Dublin 8, Ireland.

Latest Posts

Contact Us

125 Emmet Road, Inchicore, Dublin 8, D08 E0Y7, Ireland

(+353) 1 454 6332
(+353) 1 454 6211