New League Of Ireland Format Agreed

  • Fri, Nov 25, 2011 @ 12:21

The League of Ireland clubs will only play each other three times each next season, as opposed to four, but have rejected proposals that the Premier Division would split into two tiers at the end of the campaign.

The format for the new season, which will begin at the start of March, was thrashed out at a meeting of the clubs last night where suggestions of a 22-game format that would then have seen the league splitting into two groups of six were dismissed.

The league will take a mid-season break in June, a decision taken to ensure fixtures do not clash with the Euro 2012 finals in which the Republic of Ireland will feature.

And only one club will be relegated automatically from the top flight. The side finishing second last will meet the either the second or third placed team from the First Division in a play-off.

Next Fixture

Bohemians / November 28th @ 4:00pm
Competition: FAI Cup
Venue: Aviva Stadium
Team Pld Pts
Shamrock Rovers3678
St Patricks Athletic3662
Sligo Rovers3657
Derry City3654
Bohemian FC3652
Drogheda United3644
Finn Harps3644
Waterford FC3642
Longford Town3615