Patrick Vieira Is Bringing A Man City XI To Inchicore

  • Mon, Jul 27, 2015 @ 8:22

The Manchester City Elite Development Squad will travel to Dublin this Wednesday, July 29th to take on St Patrick's Athletic.

Team manager Patrick Vieira, a veteran of Manchester City, Internazionale, Juventus and Arsenal, brings his charges to Richmond Park to take on the Supersaints, managed by Liam Buckley who has his own impressive European pedigree, having played in Belgium, Spain and Switzerland during an illustrious career.

Everyone through the turnstiles on the night will be entered into a raffle to win a signed Manchester City jersey and one lucky person will be going home with a sky blue shirt bearing the signatures of some potential stars of the future.

The last Premier League side to have faced the Saints in Richmond Park were a Chelsea XI in 2009 that featured the likes of Fabio Borini, while a Tottenham Hotspur side with Gareth Bale, Dimitar Berbatov and Robbie Keane amongst their ranks were visitors to Inchicore in 2007.

Two days after the 'Man City' friendly, St Pat's take on Galway United in the SSE Airtricity League.

The Saints have enjoyed six straight wins in the league and following the disappointment of their UEFA Europa League exit, are keen to continue their impressive domestic form.

"The friendly against Man City will be the perfect opportunity to prepare for the league match against Galway, and hopefully we can entice a few people down to Richmond Park who have never been before", Saints' manager Liam Buckley outlined.

"Patrick Vieira has assembled an exciting squad of young players, but we have our own stars of the future here too, so I'm really looking forward to what should be a great occasion".

Kick-off on Wednesday, 29 July is 7.45pm with tickets priced €10 for adults and €5 for children/students/OAP.

Next Fixture

Limerick / June 24th @ 6:30pm
Competition: League
Venue: Markets Field

Latest Tweets

League Table

Pos Team Pld Pts
1Cork City1955
3Bray Wanderers2033
4Shamrock Rovers2032
5Derry City1928
6Bohemian FC1926
8Finn Harps1918
9Sligo Rovers1917
10Drogheda United1917
11Galway United FC1915
12St. Patrick's Athletic1815