Team News: Pat's Vs Derry

  • Mon, Mar 23, 2015 @ 15:31

St Patrick's Athletic host Derry City in Richmond Park on Tuesday evening as both sides look to return to winning ways following the weekend's SSE Airtricity League action (Kick-Off 7.45pm).

The Saints will be looking to bounce back following last Friday's 3-0 defeat to league champions Dundalk, while the Candystripes will be looking to build on their 1-1 draw away to Sligo Rovers on Saturday.

"The great thing about having a game so quickly after the Dundalk game is that we get the chance to put things right against Derry," admitted Saints' midfielder Conan Byrne to

"We know we didn't do ourselves justice in Dundalk so we've to go out on Tuesday and get a result."

The situation is very different heading into Tuesday's game compared to the one both sides found themselves in last November when the sides met in the Aviva Stadium in the FAI Cup Final - the Saints claiming a historic 2-0 victory against Peter Hutton's side thanks to goals from Christy Fagan.

"Yeah things are very different compared to back then alright," Byrne stated, "but our thought process is the same; we're going to win a game and are very motivated to do so."

In team news, the Saints are without suspended duo Conor McCormack and Killian Brennan, while Liam Buckley is to give late fitness tests Ger O'Brien, Jason McGuinness (both hamstring) and Brendan Clarke (ankle) before kick-off to determine their availability.

We were all very disappointed about the loss to Dundalk on Friday

Liam Buckley

"We've got to bounce back though and we can do that starting Tuesday by going out and getting a result. We know Derry are a very good side and they've a lot of local players who are very talented. But we've to concentrate on ourselves, and if we do things right, we'll hopefully get a result."

Latest Tweets

League Table

Pos Team Pld Pts
1Cork City3376
3Shamrock Rovers3354
4Derry City3351
5Bohemian FC3347
6Bray Wanderers3346
8St. Patrick's Athletic3339
9Sligo Rovers3339
10Galway United FC3335
11Finn Harps3330
12Drogheda United3322