President Praises Champs

  • Tue, Oct 15, 2013 @ 20:20

Uachtarán na hÉireann Michael D. Higgins was one of the first to congratulate Liam Buckley's Saint Patrick's Athletic side in the aftermath of Sunday's 2-0 win over Sligo Rovers which sealed the 2013 Airtricity League title.

“We were blessed with having a very fine, as you might say, defining game now that puts St. Pat's as winners of the league and I congratulate them on it, all their players and management, but above all the supporters who have been supporting them here in Richmond Park,” Higgins told the League of Ireland interview show.

Familiar with the ups and downs that football supporters can through having been a long-term President of Galway United FC, Higgins saved special praise to the all the Supersaints who made made up most of the 3,211 crowd that turned up to support Liam Buckley and his side as they made history.

“I am delighted for the supporters. I think very often some of the supporters who were there in the stands would have come very near only to see it slip away. But tonight was their great night of celebration. There was a great community senes there at the very end as well.”

Watching the game from the Saints' director box on the halfway line, the Uachtarán expressed his admiration for a game which he said a “delightful game to watch” and “full of skill,” highlighting the performance of his fellow Galweigan, John Russell.

“I think after the first goal [Greg Bolger's], which was a brilliant goal, they [Pat's] had the edge. When I say that the game was very skillful, and for example take players like John Russell, he played a very fine game, but through the team, they played some very nice football. I wish them well now that they have won the league and go into Europe.”

Next Fixture

Limerick / October 7th @ 5:00pm
Competition: League
Venue: Richmond Park

Latest Tweets

League Table

Pos Team Pld Pts
1Cork City2971
3Shamrock Rovers2947
4Derry City2843
5Bray Wanderers2942
6Bohemian FC2940
8St. Patrick's Athletic2933
9Galway United FC2932
10Sligo Rovers2931
11Finn Harps2930
12Drogheda United2818