Saints Entertain Drogheda Tomorrow

  • Thu, Apr 28, 2011 @ 15:12

The Saints entertain bottom of the table Drogheda United at Richmond Park tomorrow (Friday) night as they look to extend their unbeaten run at home to 4 games.


Once again Pete Mahon will be without captain Conor Kenna, who misses out for the fifth consecutive game.

Neil Harney (calf) and James O'Brien (ankle) also miss out, having picked up injuries during last Monday's League Cup game against Shamrock Rovers.

On a positive front, Dave Mulcahy (hamstring) and Anthony Murphy (ankle) are included in the squad having recovered from hamstring and ankle injuries, respectively.


“We are in no doubt that tomorrow is a crucial game for us. I always say it, but it won't be an easy game, there are no easy games in this League anymore.”

“Conor Kenna is still out, along with Neil (Harney) and James (O'Brien), but we have Dave (Mulcahy) and Anto.(Murphy) back from injury, but with a game on Monday (against Galway United) we will decide whether they will feature tomorrow or not.”

“Jake Carroll, Sean Stewart and Jordan Keegan played vitals roles in our League Cup triumph against Shamrock Rovers and they will all be involved in tomorrow's game.”

“Playing at home tomorrow, the onus is on us to win. We are probably slight favourites going into the game. It is the games which we are expected to win which causes us problems. We need to learn to deal with this pressure, as how we handle this will determine where we will finish in the League.”

“I am hoping for another good crowd tomorrow. We had a great travelling support in the Brandywell last Friday and noise and colour during Monday's game was great. We need to same support tomorrow as we look to continue our climb up the table.


You have to go back to May 16th, 2008 for the last draw between the two sides. Since then the Saints have won 6 of the 10 league meetings.

Next Fixture

Shamrock Rovers / March 25th @ 5:00pm
Competition: League
Venue: Richmond Park

Latest Tweets

League Table

Pos Team Pld Pts
1Cork City515
2Derry City412
4Bray Wanderers59
5Bohemian FC57
6Shamrock Rovers56
7Drogheda United56
8Finn Harps55
10Sligo Rovers54
11Galway United FC52
12St. Patrick's Athletic51