• Wed, Oct 28, 2009 @ 22:58

The Harry Boland Hall of Fame awards were launched at our recent gala dinner to celebrate 80years of St Patrick's Athletic FC.

On the night itself ten former players were inducted into the Hall of Fame and these included:

Jimmy Timber Cummins
Eddie Gormley
John McDonnell
Dave Henderson
Paul McGrath
Paddy Dillon
Paddy Ginger O'Rourke
Mark Ennis
Shay Gibbons
Paul Osam

The family of the late great Shay Gibbons were unable to attend on the night and at halftime in Friday night's match with Derry City, members of the Gibbons family were invited onto the pitch to accept his hall of fame award from Pat O'Callaghan on behalf of the club.

Shay Gibbons is truly a St Pat's legend.

He joined the club in 1950 and made an immediate impact in the club's first season as members of the League of Ireland In that 1951-52 season, Shay scored 26 goals in 22 games, including four hat-tricks.

His scoring was so prolific, he was honoured with the first of his four full International caps against Germany in May of that year.

Shay was also a Youth international and represented the League of Ireland many times.

In 52-53, 54-55 and 55-56 he was the League's top scorer and he went on to score 120 goals in nine years at Richmond Park.

Next Fixture

Dundalk / September 24th @ 8:45pm
Competition: Under17
Venue: TBC

Latest Tweets

League Table

Pos Team Pld Pts
1Cork City2770
3Shamrock Rovers2744
4Derry City2743
5Bray Wanderers2839
6Bohemian FC2837
8Sligo Rovers2831
9St. Patrick's Athletic2730
10Finn Harps2830
11Galway United FC2829
12Drogheda United2718