• Sun, May 11, 2008 @ 15:13

CONGRATULATIONS to our Under 15's who captured the Fenlon Cup this morning, defeating Manortown United 2-1 in the final. Played in sunny conditions in the AUL Complex both teams were well supported.

Manortown went into the final as favourites having won the Major Division a few weeks earlier. The 1st half was a tight affair with few clear-cut chances.

At the break it was Pats who went in the happier having taken the lead through Dean Dunphy. The big lad met Danny Murphy's cross just outside the box and looped the ball over Karl Doherty in the “Town” goal.

The start of the 2nd half continued in a similar pattern to the first with both defences on top but as the game entered its last 20 minutes it suddenly burst into life. It was end to end stuff, Manortown looking to equalise and Pats looking for the killer second goal.

Pats' Jake Byrne nearly got the insurance 2nd goal forcing Doherty to save smartly at his near post. From the resultant corner Danny Murphy seemed to seal the win when his 14-yard shot found its way into the net.

Ben Mulligan then pulled a goal back for Manortown when his low shot to Dodd's left finally beat the Saints keeper to set up a nervy final few minutes.

The yellow shirted Town rattled the Saints crossbar twice in a frantic spell of pressure, which also saw Kenneth O'Connor clear off the line. Cieran Dodds in the Saints goal was magnificent making 3 breath-taking saves - his final save was to tip the ball over the ball when an equaliser looked certain.

The game took another twist when Manortown keeper Karl Doherty was sent off for handball outside the box with Danny Murphy and Karl Lawless bearing down on goal, eventually the final whistle sounded to cue the Pats celebrations.

Next Fixture

Dundalk / September 24th @ 8:45pm
Competition: Under17
Venue: TBC

Latest Tweets

League Table

Pos Team Pld Pts
1Cork City2870
3Shamrock Rovers2847
4Derry City2843
5Bray Wanderers2942
6Bohemian FC2940
8Galway United FC2932
9Sligo Rovers2931
10St. Patrick's Athletic2830
11Finn Harps2930
12Drogheda United2818