Goodbye League, Hello FAI

  • Fri, Dec 08, 2006 @ 8:33

EIRCOM LEAGUE football will officially end today after 85 tumultuous years.

The final Annual General Meeting of the league will take place at the Plaza Park Hotel in Tyrrelstown, Dublin.

Athlone Town's Paddy McCaul will stand down as chairman and the order of business will include the report of Acting Director, John Byrne, the minutes of the previous AGM in January and the Treasurer's report. When that business is completed, the first Annual Convention of the new FAI National League will convene with two items on the agenda - the election of the chairman and the vice-chairman.

McCaul is to run unopposed for the chairman's office while a vote is scheduled to take place for the vice-chairman's role, which will be contested by Galway United's Eamonn Naughton and Kilkenny City's Caroline Rhatigan.

While the merger with the FAI is hoped to prove the dawn of a new era for Irish soccer, the financial health of the 21 members that contest the leagues remains a constant concern. Tonight's meeting is not expected to provide too many fireworks, although the matter of Shelbourne's protest against Derry City's escape from a points deduction for fielding a suspended player remains unresolved.

That issue may be put off until the new FAI National League reconvenes in the new year.

In 1921 eight clubs - all from Dublin - contested the first ever Football League of Ireland and since then it has been relabelled the Football League of the Irish Free State, the League of Ireland, the National League and the eircom League.

Latest Tweets

League Table

Pos Team Pld Pts
1Cork City3376
3Shamrock Rovers3354
4Derry City3351
5Bohemian FC3347
6Bray Wanderers3346
8St. Patrick's Athletic3339
9Sligo Rovers3339
10Galway United FC3335
11Finn Harps3330
12Drogheda United3322